• History of IPL (Indian Premier League)

    The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty 20 cricket game played in India since 2008. It is being conducted during the month of April – May of every year in India. This cricketing event was founded by BCCI (Board of Cricket Council of India) in the year 2007. Since then, it has been conducted every year.

    IPL is being regarded as the child of Mr. Lalit Modi, the founder and former commissioner of the league. It has the recognition of most popular sporting event around the world.

    In 2010, IPL became the first sporting event to be broadcasted live on Youtube. IPL has a massive fan base all around the world.

    Teams & IPL Franchise

    The teams playing in this major Cricketing event will be representing the major cities of India like Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Pune, Punjab, Kolkata, Kochi, Rajasthan, Hyderabad.

    Each team should have four foreign players and seven Indian players. This is the primary rule followed all through these years. Cricket players at International level of all countries will be shuffled together with the domestic as well as International Indian Players. This shuffling process is done by an auction which happens every year before the start of IPL.

    The players will go into auction and get selected by a particular team. The selected player will play for that auctioned team for a particular agreement period.

    Some teams will retain their best players of the team every year in the auction. The most popular teams among all are Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.

    These two teams have won the title 5 times together in the past 10 editions of IPL. Legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, MS Dhoni had been a part of these teams.

    The following are the list of teams ever played in IPL history and IPL title winners of each year.

    • Chennai Super Kings (Title winner -2010, 2011)
    • Mumbai Indians (Title winner -2013, 2015, 2017)
    • Delhi Dare Devils
    • Pune warriors – Rising Pune Super Giants
    • Kochi Tuskers
    • Sunrisers Hyderabad – Deccan charges Hyderabad (Title winner -2009, 2016)
    • Royal Challengers Bangalore
    • Kolkata Knight Riders (Title winner -2012, 2014)
    • Rajasthan Royals (Title winner -2008)
    • Kings XI Punjab

    Format of the game

    It is a very short format of the game played in 4 hours duration. A total of 8 teams will fight together in the league stages and final two successful teams would battle for the huge IPL title. The league stages have the most number of games where each team will get to play at least 8 to 16 matches.

    Orange cap

    The orange cap is a special cap which will be given to the current highest run getter of the season. This cap is a rolling cap. The current highest run getter will get the privilege to wear this cap. The one who is holding the cap at the end of the tournament will get special rewards.

    Purple cap

    The purple cap has the same privilege as the orange cap but it goes to the highest wicket taker of the tournament.


    Though IPL has been a successful sport event in India, it also has seen other side of it. There was a huge scam committed by Mr. Lalit Modi, the former chairman of IPL during the first two seasons of IPL. He was then terminated.

    The two major teams and title winners, Chennai super kings and Rajasthan Royals have been suspended for two years in 2015 because of their involvement in match fixing.

    A Few famous players like Sreesanth had become the victim of the bookies whom involved them in match fixing. The fact that Sreesanth has got a lifetime ban to play cricket is to be noted.

    This famous cricketing event has seen a lot of Ups and Downs in the past ten years. Now the 11th edition of IPL is on the cards and all the IPL fans are looking forward to it.

    Let’s hope for a better IPL season this year without any match fixing.


    Author: Pooja

    I am also one among Cricket's Die Hard Fans in India. Passionate Cricketer & blogger on Programming, Sports & Technology Updates. Love IPL's every season for the excitements that It bring. I don't need any more entertainment for the summer than this.

    Previous Post:
    Next Post:

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *